Ship style file: kelsey

Name: Kelsey Riley, sales intern

Age: 20

Hometown: York, PA

School: George Mason University

Major: Tourism and Events Management major, Business minor

Interests: friends and family, boating, snowboarding, figure skating, beauty and fashion, writing, photography

Ideal job/industry to be in one day: beauty and fashion and/or PR and/or philanthropic!

Favorite designers and stores?

Honestly, I’ve never really thought much of a particular favorite designer or celebrity inspiration; I like random things from different designers I’ve seen. Forever 21 is probably a really generic answer for a favorite store but I like it because there are lots of different styles to choose from. I find myself putting outfits together from Forever 21 with each piece from a completely different section. I also love inexpensive consignment shops – especially here in NYC because there are a lot of really great style pieces.

What’s your general fashion inspiration? How would you define your style?

I like a lot of different things – I’d like to say my wardrobe is pretty eclectic, but I know that there’s probably some commonality in my clothing choices. I definitely only dress for myself; I don’t really feel the need to impress anyone with my clothing because I think personal fashion is a celebration of individuality. I like to be bold with some pieces and I love ruffles, bows and lace. So I guess if I have to describe my general style it would be girly and trendy. 

Depending on my mood my style will be something totally different.  I love my buckle rocker boots and wearing all black. I also love my braided headband, flowy top, cowboy boots and cutoff jean shorts. I’d say most of the time the girly side comes out – I just like to pair it with something more unexpected. And I’m not the type of “trendy” that throws away last season’s must-have – I like to recreate my wardrobe year to year. I think inspiration for fashion comes from experiences or things that I’ve seen and the people that I love.

I also wear a lot of mark.—and mark. is trendy in such a good way. mark. also makes their products customizable to individual style – which I love because I can wear mark. pieces differently each time!

What was the inspiration behind this particular outfit?

Well the shirt was given to me by a friend – I get a lot of my friends’ hand-me-downs.  I like this though because I feel that friends have a lot of influence in your life and inspire you. The skirt is from a consignment shop in Brooklyn. I love finding great things inexpensively and having it being something that no one else would have. (Plus consignment shops are a great way to go green!) 

The belt and bracelets are new from mark!. My new favorite thing is to layer different textures of bracelets. Even if I don’t try to wear mark., it always finds its way into my ensemble pretty much on a daily basis. The products are just so essential!

What’s your favorite thing about the mark. internship so far?

The people that I’ve met.  I already love the brand and now I fell in love with the people behind the great products.  mark. makes it very possible to be successful and have a great time while doing so.  It perfectly combines two of my biggest passions – fashion and helping others!

Favorite mark. product to take on a desert island?

Get a tint tinted moisturizer lotion with SPF 15 ($9)! Redheads can’t be on deserted islands without SPF! 😉

What are your fashion and beauty summer must-haves?

For fashion, I love flowy skirts and dresses.  I also love cut-off shorts with boots.  I really like layering but I don’t like being hot, so it’s fun to find the happy medium there!  I also love wearing a bathing suit and cute cover ups.  I think my bohemian/hippy/peace-for-all side comes out a lot in the summer. 

As for beauty, I love all the longwear and waterproof category products from mark. – my all-time favorite product being the keep it going longwear eyeliner & shadow duo ($10).  I also love glowdacious illuminating power ($12) because it literally gives the perfect sunkissed glow.  I love long, girly lashes and refuse to not wear mascara (even at the river!) so lash splash waterproof mascara ($6) is my savior.

And finally, the best thing about being in NYC for the summer? What’s the number 1 thing to do?

Explore!  Walking around is the best way to find the coolest places.  Set aside a full day to explore a certain area – all the different areas of Manhattan and Brooklyn have their own personalities.  Google one or two special places to go with friends and pick out random places (for eating, shopping – whatever!) to stop at along the way.

One response to “Ship style file: kelsey

  1. i love KR and the mark interns!! ❤

Leave a Reply

